Super chocolate-y two layer chocolate cake with einkorn flour and speculoos frosting

Super chocolate cake

Super chocolate cake


Ok, I lied to you. This is not one chocolate cake. These are two different chocolate cakes layered to build a two story super chocolate cake! As a child I frequently asked for a chocolate cake for my birthday and every time I got one made with cocoa powder. Which is just not the same thing as these two here!

Now that i make my own i looove this recipe by Cailler (if you ever go to Switzerland make sure to stop at their chocolate factory!) it’s a “coeur coulant”, a “running heart” if that makes sense. Running because the chocolate inside is still, more or less, running, liquid, awesome. They did a great job at giving the recipe in four languages, so I will just add that I baked in a baking dish with 18 cm (7 inch) diameter for 12 minutes.

Small top chocolate cake recipe here

Chocolate cake with speculoos frosting

Chocolate cake with speculoos frosting


The base chocolate cake recipe I received in France. Cannot tell where my hostmum got it from, but the great thing is, it has weight measurements in ounces, too! Yay, for that. And for the great cake it makes. I adapted it slightly because I wanted there to be coconut oil and einkorn flour in it. Butter or margarine and white flour work well, too.

G√Ęteau au chocolat
200 g (7 oz) dark chocolate
125 g (4.4 oz) coconut oil
100 g (3.5 oz) einkorn flour ( my package even says it’s wild einkorn fluor)
3 tablespoons baking powder or one sachet
4 eggs
200 g (7 oz) caster sugar
1 pinch of salt

Melt chocolate and coconut oil and turn off the heat before you add the fluor and baking powder. Preheat the oven to 180 celsius / 350 fahrenheit. Beat the eggs until they reach a creamy texture with a pinch of salt and sugar. Add to the chocolate mix and pour the batter into a round baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes or until the blade of a knife sorts dry when picking the cake.

Two story chocolate cake

Two story chocolate cake


The frosting, I am a little proud to say, I made up myself. I looked at a recipe for Karottentorte, and all they did was mix cream cheese and maple syrup as a frosting. So I knew I could do this, too. I had brought home from the Netherlands Speculoospasta, a spread from spicy christmas cookies, and that was what I wanted to use.

Speculoos frosting
200 g cream cheese
250 g Quark (more cream cheese, lighter maybe?)
2 tablespoons speculoos butter, melted
a tablespoon vanilla extract
confectioner’s sugar to your taste

jam to garnish with

Make both cakes, bake them and let them cool completely, over night would be great. Make the frosting and place in the refrigerator for some time (over night is cool). Place the smaller cake on top of the bigger one, use some melted chocolate as “glue” if you feel your cake needs it. Coat with frosting and garnish with some blobs of jam. I used my J&K jelly

Now, how many times did I type chocolate in is post? Chocolate. Chocolate. Chocolate… ~Anna~

A moist chocolate cake

A moist chocolate cake


By the way, this has been a guys gift, too. It does not have to be a beer cake every time, eh?

Leave a Reply

