Anna, Studio

Black and white gallery wall

My gallery wall
My gallery wall

Living – in the sense of making home – is a process. And that is the way I look at my gallery wall. It is work in progress, I will be adding to it, whenever I come across an old photo, a pretty card or a nice black and white graphic. Black and white plus anthracite are the colors that keep my photo wall together. I do not worry about frame sizes or looks, anything wooden will be painted anthracite and can go up the wall.
Painting wooden frames
Painting wooden frames

Constant additions also means that I do not have a plan for my wall, no fancy layout, nothing but my taste and black/white. The photo wall is part of my big hallway, where my old – still functioning – Singer sewing machine sits and I do my dressmaking.
Photo wall and sewing machine
Photo wall and sewing machine

What is up on my picture wall? I started out with black and white post cards from Paris. Some are actually old photographs like the man carrying a little version of the Eiffel tower. That picture was taken in 1966 by Elliott Erwitt and my postcard of it is by Éditions du Désastre. They are for sale at most bigger postcard shops in Paris. They also make the card of the lady on the real Eiffel tower, which was shot in 1938 by famous german fashion photographer Erwin Blumfeld. It is called “Sur la tour Eiffel”. The photo of the kid’s birthday party is a card I got for my birthday. Bedankt, Christin.
Birthday card is art, too
Birthday card is art, too

Then there is a film still (or at least an image from shooting of the movie) called “En souriant á l’invisible” from 1998 by Edouard Boubat. I have not seen the movie so far, but like the view of the parisian Seine islands. Above it I placed an old photograph of my grandparents. Next to them hangs a poem I wrote in Englisch class ten years ago… A small picture of my great-grandparents sticks to it.
Old photos and poem on a gallery wall
Old photos and poem on a gallery wall

I have a

  • newspaper article
  • up about photographer F.C. Gundlach with a huge photo of two ladies wearing fur in a way that makes one look as if she had major muscles allover. Too weird, still makes me stop and stare. There is Hettys canvas portrait that she showed how to make

  • here
  • and my own take on it on the left. The portraits of my brother and me were taken by Nadine Martin of

  • Moment’s Fotoatelier
  • Picture wall up close
    Picture wall up close

    There is also the black/white copy of a post card my mum found. It says: “Everybody said that does not work. Then somebody who did not know that, came and did it.” Frames are from Depot and Ikea or thrifted, for painting I used Alpina Hochglanz Lack in “Schiefer”.
    Hallway impressions
    Hallway impressions

    Which artists do you recommend for further additions to my wall?

    Leave a Reply

    