Anna, Kitchen

Pizza Verde

Pizza Verde
Pizza Verde

I was going to make quiche. Then I took dry yeast instead of packing powder. Gasp. Too late for quiche, but all was not lost. Since I could not recover the tiny pearls of yeast from the dough, I decided to make pizza. As a topping I used my favorite green veggie: spinach beet or leaf beet. It tastes a lot like spinach, only even better. That‘s hardly possible, I know! It is subtle in taste so I added fresh garlic, a white onion and gouda cheese. I seasoned with my homemade herb salt with turmeric.
Green Pizza
Green Pizza

Pizza Verde
Dough

250 gr / 0.55 pounds spelt flour
1 sachet dry yeast
A little salt
60 ml olive oil
100 ml warm water


Topping

500 gr / 1.1 pounds spinach/leaf beet
2 cloves fresh garlic
1 onion
2 hands full of cashews
Gouda

Pizza with spinach beet topping
Pizza with spinach beet topping

In a big bowl mix the ingredients for the dough and kneed thoroughly with your hands. Put in a round baking dish an bake for 10 minutes at 100° Celsius. In the meantime chop up your spinach beet, the garlic and the onion and stew them gently in a little olive oil. Add the cashews either whole or broken up. You can put them in a bag and knock them with the side of your hand or give them a hit with a hammer… Top your pre-baked pizza dough with the veggies and sprinkle with gouda. Put the pizza back in the oven at 200 ° Celsius for 10 to 15 minutes.
Spinach beet pizza
Spinach beet pizza

So good! Sort of springy, fresh and tender.

Leave a Reply

