Anna, Balcony, Studio

Garden chair makeover

Garden chair makeover
Garden chair makeover

There has been a lot of food lately on the blog. So let‘s sew some today. Spring has taken a peek and disappeared again but my garden chairs are ready for good weather to stay. I found these two – possibly handcrafted – white “somewhere between movie director and Hamptons” style chairs at the thrift store. There was no price tag to be seen so they gave me both for 6 euros. Total. Together. Amazing. Even cooler when I found the price tag while taking them apart at home to remove the fabric. The tag showed up saying 9 euros. That was on one chair, I can only guess they were supposed to sell at that price each. Lucky me.
Before and after the makeover
Before and after the makeover

The seat and backing fabric on the contrary was not me at all. But nothing easier than changing that. I had this colorful stripe fabric for years. And I had lots and lots of it and only ever made a bag for my parents beach sun/wind screen out of it. Now this was going to be my new seat fabric. All I had to do was take of the old fabric, fold it apart, undo the seams and use the pieces as templates to make new ones. Seam allowance was included, I could just copy everything and sew it together.
Shiny new seat and back rest
Shiny new seat and back rest

If you have a similar project in mind just measure your seat and back rest, double the measurements and add seam allowance. Sew your seams first and then stitch the pieces together. I will post a tutorial another time.
Chairs after the makeover
Chairs after the makeover

For the fun of it I alternated the stripes directions. They are super comfy and a pleasure to look at and have a very summery feel to me. Now, does anyone want to have a glass of wine on my balcony?

Leave a Reply

