Anna, Office

How to wear DIY to the office

Wear DIY while travelling
Wear DIY while travelling

Yep, I made over pants and can still wear them to work. These are two things that have not yet matched in my mind. When styling these pants and thinking they would look best – and crisp – with a white top, it occurred to me that like this I could wear them in the shop. I am allowed to wear black, white, grey, navy or brown, so this is perfect. I believe many people prefer these colors to wear to the office or while traveling for business anyway. So I styled a little business travel outfit and the office version. Is it conservative with a twist? Or too much for a non-creative business job? Would you wear it to the office?
Paper lace doily paint on pants
Paper lace doily paint on pants

What I wanted to do was transfer my beloved paper lace doily onto fabric so I could wear it. White “Plusterfarbe”, dimensional paint, on navy pants was the perfect contrast, so I doodled the fabric color on there following the shape of a paper lace doily, “Tortenspitze” in German. What I did was “paint” – you actually press the tip of the paint pen a little into the fabric – wide arches and filled them with details. Those details are mini arches, leaves, dots, swirls, circles. Anything bold will work as long as you can make it small enough so that the ensemble will look intricate and full of details. You want your graphic elements to work as a whole and reveal its elements only on closer examination, one after the other.
Paper lace doily painted pants
Paper lace doily painted pants

I love the look but the best part about it is its texture. It’s a bit like sugar dye on a cake. It sits above the fabric instead of being blended into it. Now cross your fingers that it washes well…
Doily painted on pants
Doily painted on pants

What I already know it, that I love to wear these pants. It’s the same as with the star-spangled jeans – diy‘ed clothes are just so much more personal and so much more me. Or you – when you make them. Give it a try!
Wear dyi to the office
Wear dyi to the office

You might also like to make a bag or reconstruct a dress to start with. ~Anna~

Leave a Reply

