Hetty, Kitchen

Cranberry Scones

Homemade Scones
Homemade Scones

I love Scones! When I lived in England I always brought them with me when I visited friends and family at home. And everyone loved them like I do. But when I went to the US to see a friend, we tried to do them ourselves and no one loved them…. Well, they rather looked like weird pancakes, which explains why everyone wondered what was so special about them. I haven’t had scones in a while (French people don’t really fancy british food…), but last weekend I decided to give it another try making them on my own.

I searched for a recipe and found this basic one on chefkoch.de. As I always loved scones with something in it, I decided to do Cranberry-White Chocolate Scones. Unfortunately I added far too less white chocolate, so I ended up with cranberry scones. And I love them!

White chocolate and cranberry scones
White chocolate and cranberry scones

Here’s the recipe (makes about 20 scones):
Cranberry Scones
120 g butter
300 ml milk
60 g sugar
a pinch of salt
450 g flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
50 g dried cranberries (or more)

Melt the butter and mix it with the sugar and the milk. Beat until fluffy.

Mix the baking powder to the flour and knead it together with the milky butter. From time to time, add some off the cranberries and knead them into the batter, too. Form little balls and put them onto a baking tray.

Let cook in the oven at 220°C circulating air for 15 minutes. Take the scones out of the oven and enjoy warm or cooled down!

Cranberry Scones
Cranberry Scones

I especially love my scones with jam. Traditionally you would eat them with clotted cream, which is somewhat difficult to get outside of the UK. So you can also go for jam like me, or simply for butter.

P.S.: If you’d also like to have such a nice cake-stand as I have, check out my etagère-tutorial ! ~Hetty~

Leave a Reply

