Anna, Hetty, Kitchen, Living room

Homemade mint-lemon-syrup

Easy lemon syrup
Easy lemon syrup

The other day Hetty and I were trying out what we had imagined to be her birthday cocktail. We needed lemon syrup for it and I suggested I make it. Hetty was surprised how little I had to do to make my own syrup, so I thought I might share this on the blog, too.

For lemon syrup I just combine the juice of one lemon, a little of its zest and at least two tablespoons of sugar. While stirring I heat it slowly until the sugar dissolves and let it cool down again. Voilà, lemon syrup.

Making mint lemon syrup
Making mint lemon syrup


Mint-lemon-syrup

1 handfull mint leaves
1 lemon
Brown sugar

Juice the lemon, peel of a little of its zest, combine these with three or four tablespoons full of brown sugar. Put on a little heat, add the washed mint leaves, stir and when the sugar has melted let cool down again. That‘s it.

2 lemons gave this amount of syrup
2 lemons gave this amount of syrup

Experiment with the sugar. I always handle this according to gut-feeling. You don‘t want your juice to be completely sponged up by sugar, on the other hand too little sugar makes no syrup. Try one part sugar, two parts juice and then work your way up, if needed.
Brown sugar makes darker syrup
Brown sugar makes darker syrup

You can really make syrup from many sorts of things and with various flavors. It works great to sweeten coffee beverages but also as a base for cocktails. You can also just add chilled water and have homemade lemonade. I am looking forward to making syrup from edible flowers soon…
A drop of syrup
A drop of syrup

Leave a Reply

