Anna, Living room, Studio

Bed linen dress

50s style dress from bed linen
50s style dress from bed linen

For my birthday party I wanted a special dress. Even before I had a pattern or cut in mind I had thought about using these old bedclothes that my Mum never used anymore. We don’t know how old they are, my guess is early seventies. In the march issue of Burda Style I found several patterns that I liked and blogged about then One was a 50s style cocktail dress. A very flared and swinging skirt, it is a circle altogether, and a tight bodice with a heart-neckline and a neckholder. Neckholder dresses are party favorites, don’t you think? The pattern is this one I have something going on for this kind of style, as I already wrote about the Brigitte Bardot inspired Burda fashion shoot
Flower print, satin sash and petticoat
Flower print, satin sash and petticoat

Now, my dress is from reasonably old bed sheets. They are neither thin nor threadbare, so in a pretty good vintage condition. Even though I am a seamstress it took me six hours or so to make this beauty. My sewing machine is pretty old and the bodice was a bit of work. And so totally worth the labor. For my “Edle Epochen” (classy epochs) themed birthday party I wore my dress with a petticoat and a satin sash with a bow. For the hair-do it had to be a classic 50s ponytail.
Lilac, dandelion and a cocktail dress
Lilac, dandelion and a cocktail dress

Considering I made clothes out of plastic bags when I was about 6 years old, this is pretty wearable, don’t you think?

2 thoughts on “Bed linen dress”

Leave a Reply

