Anna, Kitchen

Tomato-Mozzarella-Soufflé

Tomato-Mozzarella-Soufflé
Tomato-Mozzarella-Soufflé

As it often happens in life, not having the right utensils can create even better things than initially planned. I forgot my muffin tray at my place when I wanted to bake tomato-mozzarella muffins at my parents house. Going back was out of question, too hungry, too comfortable where I was. So I poured my batter in a small cake dish. Tada: soufflé. Technically this it not a soufflé because it is a different kind of dough, I used no eggs whatsoever, … I wanted to name it soufflé anyway. It just sounds chic, doesn’t it? And it does look like one, I think, and it sure tasted as tender and fluffy as a real soufflé.
Basil, tomatoes and mozzarella cake
Basil, tomatoes and mozzarella cake

Tomato-Mozzarella-Soufflé adapted from Kuechenchaotin

125 g flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon natron
100 ml olive oil
100 ml milk

1 bowl of mozzarella
2 ripe tomatoes
lots of basil leaves
salt and pepper

Mix the ingredients from the first block, whisk and put aside. Dry the mozzarella with a paper towel and cut into little cubes, wash the tomatoes, dry them and make cube out of them, too. Add tomatoes, mozzarella, basil and salt and pepper to your taste to the flour mixture. Fill in a greased or lined deep and small oven-safe dish and bake at 180 ° Celsius for 20 to 30 minutes.

Savoury cake mediterranean style
Savoury cake mediterranean style

Tomatoes and mozzarella are real summer tastes to me. What’s your favorite summer dish? ~Anna~

Leave a Reply

