Anna, Balcony, Kitchen

Mini rhubarb cakes

Rhubarb mini cakes
Rhubarb mini cakes

If plan A does not work, there is always B, C and D… I love this saying, although I find it hard to apply to life. But the kitchen – read: my food cravings – teach it to me over and over again. These rhubarb mini cakes were no exception. I wanted rhubarb muffins. The rhubarb was in my parents garden, I was house sitting at their place and had all supplies except for my muffin tray. What’s a girl got to do? Repurpose!

I had once given my mum these plain white, beautifully shaped crème brulée dishes. They are hardly ever in use – my uncle owns the burner – so I put them to use as mini cake pans. I altered the muffin dough slightly and got nice doughy – inside soft, outside just a little crispy – mini cakes. Got to love rhubarb season!

Vanilla and rhubarb cakes in small
Vanilla and rhubarb cakes in small

Rhubarb muffins
6 thin stems of rhubarb
2 tablespoons of sugar
vanilla extract or vanilla sugar

125 g flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon natron
50 ml sunflower oil
some milk

Wash the rhubarb, cut it into rough pieces and cook it with some water. The water just needs to cover the bottom of your pot. Add the sugar and some vanilla.

Prepare the dough by mixing all ingredients together. When the rhubarb is mush-like add it to the dough. Pour it gently in the greased crème brulée dishes – i just four little pans. Bake at 180 ° celsius for about 30 minutes.

Small rhubarb cakes
Small rhubarb cakes

In case you wonder, why I only show two mini cakes: guess what? They were so good, I already at two of them warm.

Vanilla sauce, also known as crème anglaise, would be a great accompaniment. Just make it beforehand, otherwise the mini cakes might all have disappeared before… Can’t remember where this knowledge comes from 😉 ~Anna~

Leave a Reply

