Hetty, Studio

Pink loose top – the chain top

Hanging loose?
Hanging loose?

Not long after my first sewing attempts I decided to try out another project. In Burda 5/2013 I found a top, which seemed pretty easy.

The sewing pattern was really easy to do, as directions were given for how to draw this pattern. So no tracing of “hidden” lines here, yay!

Pretty pink loose chain top girl
Pretty pink loose chain top girl

I used some bright pink leftover fabric, which I had bought at the Dutch fabric market. Although this decision didn’t seem to be the best and the fabric slipped quite easily and the yarn tension was a horror, I was quite happy with the outcome. Instead of pink yarn I used white one to get a nice contrast.

Also instead of sewing the ribbon to hold the top together, I used the chain of a long necklace I’m not using anymore.

Hanging in there
Hanging in there

I don’t know how Burda sets up their sizing scheme, but usually a size 38/40 is really good for me. But this time it was much too wide and armholes were just too big. I had to stitch it down by at least 4 cm on each side and it is still wide enough.

So, how do you like this bright pink top?

2 thoughts on “Pink loose top – the chain top”

  1. Tolle Idee, eine alte Kette zu nutzen. Wie ist es mit dem Waschen? Schon ausprobiert? Hält die Kette?
    Ach, und das Baumel-Bild finde ich richtig toll! 😀
    LG, Ninutschka

    1. Die Expertin, aka Hetty, sagt, sie nimmt die Kette zum Waschen raus! Und Baumel-Bild finde ich ein super Wort 🙂 So hängen wir halt immer rum 😉 Und natürlich danke für’s Kompliment!

Leave a Reply

