Anna, Kitchen

1/2 and 1/2 bread: spelt, einkorn and some sesame

1/2 and 1/2 bread
1/2 and 1/2 bread

I like to entertain friends from other countries by taking them to any german bakery. You would think you only get this effect in a french patisserie, but I have seen jaws drop at the amazing variety of bread and rolls in Germany as well. I only understood the effect our bakeries have on foreigners, when my friend from Vietnam had me ask if she could take photos of the bread. What’s ordinary for one is extraordinary for another!

Now that baking bread has become one of my favorite things to do I don’t go into bakeries that often anymore but I will gladly tell you where to go.

My first bread I learned to make way back in the days as an exchange student in the US from my host mum Junie b Since then my bread making has changed a bit: I experiment with different kinds of flour, with spelt and einkorn being my favorites. Today I want to share a bread I made recently using those two types of flour and sesame seeds.

Spelt and einkorn flour bread
Spelt and einkorn flour bread

1/2 and 1/2 bread with sesame
250 g spelt flour
250 g einkorn flour
1 cup of sesame seeds
10 g salt
1 sachet dry yeast
350 ml of water

Combine the dry ingredients and carefully add water. You might not need all of the water or you might need some more depending on the weather. Add about a cup of sesame seeds or more to your taste. Stir some with a big (wooden) spoon and then knead thorougly with your hands. Let the bread dough sit and rise covered with a tea towel in a warm area, for example near a radiator or the oven. I usually put it into the bread tin before letting it rise for at least an hour.

Home-made bread with sesame seeds
Home-made bread with sesame seeds

Bake at 200 ° celsius for 45 to 60 minutes. This is not much different than my regular bread but has the fun sesame twist. And yes, there is J&K jelly on my bread slice…

What are you going to make this weekend? ~Anna~

Leave a Reply

