Anna, Kitchen

Apple tarte tatin Annas way

Tarte tatin aux pommes
Tarte tatin aux pommes

Sometimes it takes me forever to try out the easiest, quickest things or recipes. Can things really look too simple? It was the same with this tarte tatin. I never had one and only in the back of my mind I knew this was a classic french cake that everyone must eat one day. So then the aforesaid day arrived. I was at my aunt’s house when we saw that her first august apples – they are tiny and sort of rosy – were ripe. She let me have as many as I wanted since they go off quickly. So I went home with my precious little apples. One can basically not have enough apple sauce, nevertheless I was in the mood for a cake.

This is the part where my favorite little cookbook makes an appearance again: Que faire du simple aujourd’hui… I can not recommend this little vegetable and fruit cookbook series enough (no, they do not sponsor me). The books come in English and German, too, and have anything from really basic to sophisticated recipes. My tarte tatin is inspired by “Que faire du simple aujourd’hui avec les fruits frais?” which I will refer to as the fruit cookbook. I confess that I had no clue about how a tarte tatin was made – namely upside down – and that it is really easy. Not only the upside down part…

Annas apple tarte
Annas apple tarte

Tarte tatin aux pommes Annas way
Batter

250 g flour
80 g coconut oil (at room temperature)
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 egg yolk
1 pinch of salt
1/2 cup lukewarm water

Topping
2 big or 4-5 small apples
5 tablespoons brown sugar
25 g coconut oil
ground cinnamon
pepper

How to
Let’s start by making a shortcrust. Take the time to rinse your mixing bowl with hot water, here is explained why. Put the flour into the bowl and add the pinch of salt and the coconut oil. Knead with your finger tips. Add the egg yolk, knead some more, add some water, knead again.

Add brown sugar and knead. If you like your dough to be not only crunchy but flavored as well, add some cinnamon here, too. Form a ball out of the batter and let it rest in the fridge for at least 15 minutes.

Easy apple tarte tatin
Easy apple tarte tatin

For the topping peel the apples and cut them in quarters or eigths. I recommend quarters for small apples, eights for bigger ones. With a pastry brush apply coconut oil to the bottom of a baking dish (a regular round baking dish works better for this recipe than a tart dish). Spread the brown sugar on top, add the oil and give it a good turn of the pepper grinder. It is especially pretty – as well as delicious – when you use a grinder with a variety of pepper grains. Sprinkle with ground cinnamon.

Now is the time to put the apples on top of this. The closer they are placed, one next to the other, the better the tart will be!

Get the batter out of the refridgerator and roll it out so it will cover the baking dish. Lay the flattened shortcrust onto the apples and trim off excess dough – or just squeeze it into the baking dish. Bake for 25 minutes at 200° celsius. Once it is done, turn it around and place on a serving plate immediately.

Thanks to the Tatin sisters who accidentally invented this cake making method all the way back in the 1900s… ~Anna~

Leave a Reply

