Anna, Hetty, Studio

Waiting for christmas: Advent wreaths

by Hetty and Anna

Annas pine wreath
Annas pine wreath

Hi, Anna here! One of our favorite tradtitions for the time of Advent is the advent wreath. Traditionally four candles on a fir sprig wreath symbolize the four sundays of advent and count down the time to christmas. Today I will show you two adventy door wreaths and Hetty is here to share her advent wreath. Here is what she did:
Hettys advent wreath
Hettys advent wreath

This year I decided to do my advent wreath not using any fir sprigs, but pine cones and dried orange peel instead. As it is almost impossible to get anything that would even slightly look like real fir sprigs in Le Havre, I decided to not use any green and go with a modern, yet natural theme.
Advent centerpiece
Advent centerpiece

The base for this wreath is a small cake stand that I got about a year ago. The candles are from IKEA, where they are sold in a pack of four, so perfect for any advent wreath.
Four candles on a cakestand
Four candles on a cakestand

Starting with these two parts, I thought about what to use to add a little decoration to make it a real advent wreath… I still had four pine cones left that didn’t make it into my pine cone garland (more on that later in another post), so I added them in the free spaces between the candles. Next were the dried orange peels, which match my colour scheme very well. Plus they are not made from plastic!!!
Wreath with pine cones, orange peel and stars
Wreath with pine cones, orange peel and stars

I could have finished this wreath at this point, but somehow something was still missing. Therefore four stars from my freshly made batch of salt dough ornaments (yet another post to come) completed the decoration. How do your Advent wreaths look like? ~Hetty~
Advent window decoration
Advent window decoration

Ok, what I want to show you are two door wreaths. Well, one really turned out to be a window decoration, that I am absolutely in love with. I was going to cover a metall hoop with sprigs to have a round wreath. I started to put my first twig of pine on the hoop, when I realized how much I would just like another sprig in the opposite direction and decorate them with a sprig of red berries and a satin ribbon. Said, done. I wrapped thread around both twigs, added the red berries, secured them with off-white thread as well and tied the bow. The hoop has a large diameter, bigger than a regular cake pan and is slightly lopsided. All the while very charming…
Wrapped door wreath
Wrapped door wreath

Wreath two really turned out to be a wreath for my front door. I made it entirely from sprigs that I bent and secured to one another, hence not perfectly round neither. But who needs perfection anyways? Start with a long thin sprig of pine that bends easily, add another sprig, tie thread around them. Place the sprigs in a way the the needles are not all bundled in one place but nicely spread apart. While adding more sprigs keep on bending to acquire a roundish shape. Once you feel like your wreath is big enough and you are satisfied with the shape secure the end part to the first twig by wrapping the thread tightly around both sprigs. Add a ribbon and a bow and some decorations. I like to keep it simple. Pine is so pretty!
Annas advent door wreath
Annas advent door wreath

Leave a Reply

