Anna, Kitchen

Mohnstollen: Poppy seeds stollen recipe by a Viennese

by Anna

Poppy seed stollen
Poppy seed stollen

My mum tells me tales of my grandma preparing advent cookies and christmas cakes in amounts the family could never eat alone. So when my dad came into the family there was not only one more person to eat all those goodies, but also the new in-laws my grandma could give cake to. When my brother and I were born and grew we were finally able to eat all of it without any cookies going bad. We might have had christmas goodies well into january, however my grandma was happy. She always took great pleasure in cooking and baking for us and I am a lot like her there. One thing she liked to make was stollen, the cake that is supposed to resemble baby Jesus in his manger. I always liked the poppy seeds version best, so here is the recipe Oma handed down. And no, she is not from Vienna, she got it from a friend in Bavaria and she… Well, somewhere in there was a viennese.
Family favorite
Family favorite


Poppy seeds stollen

Batter
500g flour (me whole wheat einkorn flour bought here)
a pinch of salt
1 tbsp sugar mix
200g margarine (possibly a little more)
1 cube fresh yeast
1/4 liter milk (me: oat milk)

Fillung
500g poppy seeds
1 cup semolina
1 cup hot milk (me: oat milk)
1 tbsp sugar
3 tbsp ground almonds
1 egg

Mix flour, salt and sugar and melt the margarine. Once the froth on the melted margarine has dissappeared pour it over the flour mixture and whisk. Crumble a cube of fresh yeast over the mix and pour on 1/4 litre of milk. Knead well either with the machine or by hand.

Christmas stollen
Christmas stollen

Prepare the filling by mixing 500g poppy seeds with one cup semolina. Add a cup hot milk (or its substitute) to cook the semolina. Add sugar and almonds, stir and let cool down before putting in the egg. Whisk well. (Shh: Buy enough poppy seeds… Someone did not and had to add more semolina, not nice.)

On a baking tray lined with parchment paper stretch out the dough so it covers most of the tray. Spread out the filling in the middle third of the flat batter lenghtwise and fold over the sides. Alternatively coat the batter entirely and make a roll. Bake on low heat for 30 minutes. I baked mine at 150°C (300F) but it needed about 15 minutes longer in the oven than what the recipe suggested. As usual it depends on the oven.

Stollen with glaze
Stollen with glaze

Once cooled down glaze with a sugar coating from powdered sugar and lemon juice.

To be precise I want to state that in the recipe this is called a poppy seeds roll. In my family it has always been Mohnstollen and always will be. Have a merry first of Advent tomorrow!

Poppy seed roll
Poppy seed roll

Leave a Reply

