Anna, Kitchen

Savoury pumpkin pie: Muscat Pumpkin Quiche

by Anna

Muscat pumpkin quiche
Muscat pumpkin quiche

How could I have gone so long without making a pumpkin quiche? As in the savoury version of pumpkin pie. Now, that I have made and eaten it, it seems like the most obvious thing in the world: pumpkin and ricotta on my regular quiche dough. Throw in some parmesan and some nutmeg and it’s all good. Thinking about it, this combination never crossed my mind, probably because I do not like pumpkin pie. Pumpkin is a savoury food to me. Period. Whether you agree or simply desire a change from pumpkin pie, here is how I made pumpkin quiche.
A slice of quiche
A slice of quiche

Muscat pumpkin quiche
Find the recipe for the very quick and easy dough here
600g muscat pumpkin (aka musquée de provence or fairytale pumpkin)
1 onion
250g ricotta
1 egg
nutmeg, salt and pepper
parmesan

Peel and dice the onion and stew it in a little olive oil. Pare the muscat pumkin. Yes, the paring is hard to get off, I already broke a knife doing so, so be careful. Chop the pumpkin and add to the onion dices. Let this stew.

In the meantime prepare the dough, as explained here
Roll out the dough directly in the baking dish. I usually just flatten it manually, sometimes I use a cup as a rolling pin. With a fork cut in the dough.

Get the pumpkin-onion-veggies off of the stove and let them cool some. Whisk together the egg and ricotta and season with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Grate some parmesan on the veggies, season as well. (One could just season one of the mixes really well and it should be fine. I just like to season both to be sure…) Mix egg-ricotta and veggies. Pour this on the dough in the baking dish. Put in the oven for 25 minutes on about 200°C (390F).

One pumpkin, many names: fairytale or muscat pumpkin
One pumpkin, many names: fairytale or muscat pumpkin

Let the quiche cool down for five minutes before serving. And then enjoy some savoury pumpkin deliciousness. I bet other pumpkin would work here, too. I just haven’t tried yet…

Just for the record: that’s a tiny hokkaido pumpkin in the second picture!

Leave a Reply

