Anna, Studio

Makeover of my tartan dress

by Anna

Tartan dress makeover
Tartan dress makeover

Do you remember how I turned a floral dress inside out because I liked the wrong side of the fabric better? Well, I had another dress that I was not completely happy with. I had thirfted it while living in France. I loved the flannel fabric, the tartan pattern and the color combination of teal and pink with a little yellow. It would have been the perfect winter dress if only it were more flattering. Look:
Before
Before

Pretty sad, huh? It had Keulenärmel, big sleeves with a lot of fabric around the shoulder, and it reached all the way down to my mid calves. Not flattering on me. I wore it a couple of times but only felt good in it when I added a cardigan. (Also high heels might have helped, but I like to stay with my feet on the ground) So the sleeves had to go and some shortening had to be done.
Rear view
Rear view

I had originally planned to alter the sleeves once they were taken off, but I was so pleased with the result that I settled on sleeveless. At least for now. It is too thin a flannel to wear without a cardigan or a longsleeve shirt underneath plus I love the dress plus cardigan (or sweater) look. Is that “a look” at all? Anyway, I made the dress quite a lot shorter: 12 cm or almost 5 inches. I did not cut it off though but just hemmed it again a lot higher than before. This gives me a little more warmth and a sort of ballon look.
Sideview
Sideview

I admit that I wear this dress with buttons in the front and on other days with buttons on the back. I can’t quite figure out which one is right because the collar is always rather tight. Still I think it it meant to be worn the way I do in the photos. If someone knows how to determine how to wear it, I would love to hear.
The sideview shows the stripes of fabric that give it a sort of apron look. First, I thought I had to get rid of those, too, to make it a better fit, but in the end taking off the sleeves made everything so much better.
Tartan dress
Tartan dress

I do look rather strict like a school girl with the ponytail, the glasses and that collar… In case I ever need to scare someone, this is the look. Ha. Thanks, Papa, for the pictures!

Leave a Reply

