Hetty, Living room, Studio

Saltdough Ornaments made with cookie cutters

by Hetty

Stars made from salt dough
Stars made from salt dough

Somehow I got spared making salt dough as a child. Or maybe I don’t remember?

Anyway, this year I was really in the mood of making a lot of Christmas decoration moi-même and settled on salt dough to be the ultimate solution for that. And it is! There are so many things you can do with salt dough and it really is not just for children from my point of view.

Cookie cutter ornaments
Cookie cutter ornaments

I decided on making simple salt dough ornaments and to use them for a variety of Christmas DIYs. Check out the ornaments on my branches tree and the ornaments I used to decorate my Advent wreath with.
Cute salt dough elk
Cute salt dough elk

Anna already told you how to make salt dough, but she had some problems with the consistency of her dough though. I used a slightly different “recipe” and didn’t encounter any problems (if you don’t count dry and red hands as a problem).

I used:
One part salt and two parts flour.

Then I added a little bit of water. Be careful not to add to much water as the dough will get sticky and/or runny otherwise. I didn’t use oil at all.

A glittery saltdough star
A glittery saltdough star

Once you have the dough nicely knead together, roll it out on a flat surface and cut ornaments with cookie cutters. With a tooth pick, make little holes into the ornaments, so that you can hang them up later.

Next step is to bake the ornaments in the oven at a temperature somewhere between 50-100°C for at least 3 hours. I let my ornaments dry one night before I put them in the oven, which reduced the baking time by about half an hour.

All lined up: salt dough ornaments
All lined up: salt dough ornaments

Now you are free to do whatever you like with your salt dough ornaments. How do you use them for your Christmas decoration?

Leave a Reply

