Kitchen

Galette des rois and an epic galette fail

by Anna
IMG_2631
Let’s talk about galette des rois today. Precisely about my recent epic fail with that cake, last years galette and vegan vanilla pudding. Yes, that’s not only dairy but completely animal-free pudding. And I am especially thinking of my friend Christin when talking about pudding…

A galette des rois is something you cannot fail at when baking. I did it anyway. That’s because I decided to make my own dough and it worked not out the way I wanted it to be. I did not even attempt to make my own puff pastry (although I am still very tempted to do so) I just wanted a quick homemade dough. I had made a custard by cooking my own vanilla pudding and adding dried apricots that I had soaked in a mix of amaretto and water.

For the dough I used my everyday dough recipe
250 g flour
a pinch of salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
60 ml fat

The fat is where I differed from what I usually use. For a hearty tart it’s wonderful to use olive oil. Not so much for a sweet cake. So I switched out oil for vegetable spread and heated it on the stove. This might have been the KO for my cake. I don’t know. The dough was almost a short crust. I could not stretch it and roll out enough.

Nevertheless, the custard waited to be consumed. I was not going to toss a perfectly fine dough and that way two bowls of a wonderful dessert came to life. A cake base with an apricoty vanilla custard. Sounds good?

Here is my vegan custard recipe

250 ml oat milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoon cornstarch

1 cup dried apricots
1 cup amaretto
some water

Take three spoons of milk and whisk them together with vanilla extract, sugar and cornstarch. Two tablespoons of cornstarch give a cream pudding, for a more solid result take another heap of starch.

Heat the rest of the milk. When it get to boiling take it from the stove and whisk in the vanilla mix. Bring to boiling again while whisking and continue for two minutes. Once you take it off of the stove it will start to set pretty quickly I found.

Let the apricots soak in amaretto and water for a couple of hours. Then I threw out the liquid and blended the amaretto apricots and added them to the custard. It was wonderful. But it was not a galette des rois. Therefore, here is how I made my galette last year:
IMG_2635
Buy about 400g of puff pastry and cut two circles. One should be big enough to cover the base of your tart pan and go up the sides. The second circle can be smaller because it will be the “lid”. Put the base pastry into the pan.

Filling
150g ground almonds
100g sugar
100g soft butter
Peel of an untreated, organic lemon
200g marzipan

Mix those ingredients and fill them into the tart pan. Put the pastry lid on top and fold down the sides so they will overlap. With a little water stick them to the lid. Whisk two egg yolks and a little milk (any kind will do) and spread on the cake lid. Bake for 20 – 30 minutes on 220°C.

Learn more about the King’s Cake tradition here

Leave a Reply

