Anna, Kitchen

Homemade vegetable broth and a poached egg

by Anna
poached egg green beans peas broth
Can you believe I had never made a poached egg? I changed that right at the start of 2014. Coming home from a lovely, snowy Christmas vacation I was craving green veggies. Also I wanted to make my own vegetable broth. So I decided to combine the three and make veggie broth with green beans and peas and a poached egg. Worked fine and satisfied the green craving for the moment.

Homemade vegetable broth with a poached egg (adapted from Brigitte)
1 leek
2 carrots
1 onion
1 clove of garlic
1 chunk of celery
Salt, pepper, bay leaf, thyme
2 litres water

a handful green beans
2 cups peas

1 egg

Peel celery and carrots, strip leek of dry outer leaf if needed and chop them roughly. Quarter the onion with its paring. Peel the garlic and give it a good smash with the edge of your hand. I think I learned this “trick” from a Jamie Oliver cookbook…

Heat these veggies with the water, a bay leaf and some fresh thyme. I brought them to boil and then let simmer for an hour. One tipp: I feel organic veggies will make this broth more flavourful.

About ten minutes before serving add beans (striped of its ends) and peas. They may be al dente, right? If you prefer them thoroughly cooked, let them simmer some longer with the broth.
vegetable broth
Make the poached egg! Bring water with some vinegar to right before boiling. Break the egg into a ladle. Here it comes in handy that I learned how to break and egg with one hand… The yolk should be entirely surrounded by the egg white. Pour the egg in the vinegar water and let boil for four minutes.

You could now sift the broth to separate the vegetable we used for flavour from the broth and the beans/peas. I just scooped broth, green beans, peas and my egg in my bowl. Add some salt and pepper. And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

