Kitchen

Pear-Fig-Tarte: A taste of winter

by Hetty
Pear Fig Cake
Do you know it when you sometimes have something in your kitchen cupboard forever and really don’t know what you could do with it? To me it actually doesn’t happen too often as I’m writing weekly lists about what I want to eat. But still, it does happen from time to time. Last time it happened was with a roll of dried, spiced figs which I bought during my summer holidays in Lanjaron. Hoping I could use it someday, I took it to Le Havre with me.

When I saw this recipe, I instantly knew that my figs wouldn’t have to waste their time in my cupboard anymore. I already told you that I love pears, so the tarte with dried figs and pears sounded just right to make.
Star covered cake - Pear and Fig
I changed the dough a little bit and didn’t include all of the spices as my dried figs were already spiced and I didn’t want to overdo it.

Additionally I decided on doing a star-crust to make a more wintery version of this delicious cake.
Pear Fig Tarte covered with cookie stars
Here’s what you need for a small cake/tarte (16cm)
Dough
200g flour
120g vegetable spread
50g sugar
a pinch of salt
1 tbsp soy flour
2 tbsp water

Filling
2-3 ripe pears
50g dried figs

Start with mixing all the ingredients for the dough in a bowl. Mix well with a hand-mixer until you get a smooth dough. Eventually you need to help a little bit with your hands.

Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface and cut a piece that is big enough to cover your tarte pan. You’ll need some more of the dough later to cover the cake, so you shouldn’t use everything right away. Cover your form with baking paper or prepare it with some vegetable spread. Place the rolled out dough in the cake form and press down and to the sides. Place in the fridge for 30 minutes.
Pear and Fig Tarte
In the meantime, wash and cut the pears into thin slices. Cut the figs into cubes or slices as well.

Take the cake form out of the fridge and layer the pear slices and figs on the dough. I started with a layer of pears, then a layer of figs and in the end another layer of pear slices.

Now roll out the rest of the dough and cut out little stars with a cookie cutter. Place the cookie stars on top of the tarte and make sure that they overlap slightly. Don’t overdo it though as it’s prettier if you can still see the single stars and some of the filling as well.
Put your cake into the oven and bake at 190°C for 15-20 minutes.
Star covered Pear and Fig Tarte
Once finished, take it out of the oven and enjoy when it’s still warm!

2 thoughts on “Pear-Fig-Tarte: A taste of winter”

Leave a Reply

