Kitchen

Pear and Caramelized Onion Pizza

by Hetty
Caramelised Onion Pear Pizza
This combination might sound a little bit awkward to you at first, but believe me, it’s heavenly! I actually nicked this idea from Anna when I saw her pinning it on Pinterest. As I didn’t have an idea for my next pizza adventure yet, I decided that this was a good idea and gave it a try.
Pear Caramel Onion Pizza
First, prepare the usual pizza base and roll it out on a baking tray.

For the topping you’ll need
one or two firm pears, depending on their size
one middle-sized onion
3 tbsp sugar
soy cream
some black pepper

Put the soy cream on the pizza base and spread it well.
Pear Caramelised Onion Pizza
Next, cut the onion into rings. If you have any idea how I can make myself stop crying when cutting onion, tell me. I’m the worst person at cutting onions and have tried almost every trick, but I just can’t stop crying…

In a saucepan, heat the onion with the sugar. Make sure, the sugar covers the onion well. Once the sugar has melted, take the pan off the heat and put the onions onto the pizza.
Wash the pears and cut them into thin slices. Arrange them on the pizza and eventually cover them with the onions. Sprinkle with some black pepper.
Pear and Onion Pizza
Bake in the oven at 200°C for about 20 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

