Studio

Hetty’s first loop and knitting in progress: Knitting ToDo

by Hetty
simple handknit cowl
Happy Sunday to all of you! Finally a Sunday without too much work for me, a Sunday which really deserves to be called the end of the week… Well, a Sunday before I go back to uni work… So I’ll just use the time wisely and tell you about my first ever knit scarf and my knitting projects in progress. As usual, I am working on several things at the same time, not finishing anything in the near future, but already making plans for new projects…

But first about my first loop. It’s a very simple and basic piece that anyone could do. You only need to know how to cast on, how to knit and how to bind off. So get as much yarn as you think you will need and cast on the number of stitches that equals the width you want to have for your loop scarf. Then keep knitting and knitting until it is long enough that you can wrap it around your neck twice while keeping the two ends attached.

Bind off and then sew the ends together with a yarn needle. Finished!
easy infinity scarf instructions
I used some burgundy red polyester yarn, basically just because it had a nice colour and didn’t cost too much. This way, I wouldn’t lose a fortune if I didn’t get along with or didn’t like it I figured. What a stupid thought though, I love knitting and fell directly for when I started this loop scarf. If you want to find more about how I actually learned knitting, you read about it here

So while that’s history, I’m on quite a few projects right now.
Hetty's Knitting ToDo

First, there is my Still Light Tunic, that I started a year ago. Right now it’s on hold, because I kind of need myself to push to giving double pointed needles another try. I did try it several times, but I just don’t like it. I did finish one of the pockets using double pointed needles, but it was a fight. So if any of you have any hints, you’re very welcome to share them with me.

The second project I’m working on is a very simple pullover. A no-brainer compared to the tunic. Just stockinette stitch and all pieces are sewn together at the end, so no dpns needed here. Yay! I just finished the back part and will start the front body piece this evening.
Hetty's Knitting White Yarn
The project I haven’t even started yet is going to be the Miette Cardigan by Andi Satterlund. I have five skeins of this lovely white yarn that I got for Christmas, and please – it needs to be enough! I calculated it should be just about the right amount, but keep your finger’s crossed for me. Andi has some more really nice knitting patterns, and one of them is even called like me – Hetty! I’m definitively tackling that one once I’m finished with the Miette.
Knitting ToDo
The last thing you see in the picture is my new travel sewing machine which I just won as first price gift on a web marketing contest at my French business School. How cool is that! Can’t wait to give some simple things a try with this cutie…

Leave a Reply

