Kitchen

Pink Beet Quiche

by Hetty
Beetroot Champignon Quiche
Beetroot have never been my favourite vegetables when I was a child. I actually don’t really remember having to eat beets as a little girl, but somehow I always thought that I didn’t like them. Well, this changed about 4 years ago when I was deep in the process of writing my bachelor-thesis and stayed long hours at the library. One of my special treats in this time was making fancy stuff for dinner. That’s why I bought a couple of beets one day; I thought it was kind of cool…

Whether or not they’re cool, that day I fell for this earthy and chilled taste. Since then, beetroot have been an integral part of my menu in winter days.
Even though we’re turning towards spring now (Yeah!Yeah!Yeah!), I made a beetroot quiche the other day. Somehow, it turned out very pink in the end!
Here’s what you need for a small (16cm) cake form.
Pink Beetroot Quiche
Dough
125g flour
½ sachet baking powder
a pinch of salt
2 tbsp olive oil

Filling/Topping
2 middle-sized, pre-cooked beetroots
125g champignons (in a glass)
100ml soy cream
100ml soy milk
2 tbsp soy flour + 4 tbsp water
salt and pepper

Fort he dough, mix all the ingredients in a big bowl and knead very well with your hands. Put the dough in the fridge while you prepare the filling.
Pink Quiche
Cut the beets into slices. Pay attention to your hands and clothes. I always use a fork to secure the beet.

Drain the mushrooms, wash them and add them to the sliced beets.

Mix the soy cream, soy milk, soy flour (lots of soy here – you can also substitute the cream and the milk by other sources, e.g. rice or oats) in a glass. Season with salt and pepper.
Now get out the dough from the fridge and roll it out on a lightly floured surface. Grease your tart pan with a little oil or use baking paper instead. Place the dough in the form and press it down gently. Pull up the edges on the sides and press to the sides.

Place the beets and mushrooms on the dough and pour the liquids over the veggies. Make sure that everything is well-covered.
Beetroot Quiche
Place the quiche form in the oven and bake at 220°C for about 25 minutes.
Take out of the oven, let cool down a little bit and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

