Kitchen

Laktosefreie Käse-Sahne-Torte mit Pflaumen – Cold cake: A dairy-free plum-cream gateau

by Anna
laktosefreie käse sahne torte
In autum I made a cake that was so good that I could not even take photos before it was gone. I had even written parts of the post about it, but: no photos, no post. That’s why I made another one, also because tastesheriff asked to see our cheesecakes. In German it is a Käse (cheese) Sahne (cream) Torte (gateau) – cheese cream cake/gateau.

Let’s hear the story of the one I made in fall:

Cold cake. Does that sound strange to you? It’s a no bake cake. I used my waffle maker to make the base for this sorta rich cream cake with a season twist. I was inspired by a conversation I had with Hetty. We agreed that if there is cream gateau for any occasion, it was made by our mums. We are not cream gateau kind of makers. I wondered why and looked through my mother’s cookbook. There was a recipe in there that I had often requested for my birthdays: cream gateau with raspberries. I decided I would be a cream gateau maker now, too.

At this point a failed waffle experiment from the day before proved handy: Only having one egg instead of three and then substituting with too much coconut fat equals waffles that fall apart. I scraped out the waffle crumbs from the waffle maker and saved them because I had just read about pastry cases made from cookies. Crumbs should work, too, I thought. And they did…
dairy-free cream cheese cake
Back to the future. When Hetty learned she could not tolerate lactose she saw creamy desserts go down the drain – and she prooved it wrong here with her vegan panna cotta – while I saw me waving goodbye to cream gateaus. But I would not be a maker (nor a baker) if I did not look for a solution. Hetty said silk tofu, I said coconut milk. We added oat cream and there it was:

my dairy-free plum cream gateau
400g silk tofu
about 100 g coconut fat (the solid from one can of coconut milk)
250ml oat cream
juice of one lemon
2 tbsp sugar
1 sachet vanilla sugar or 1/8 teaspoon vanilla extract
300g pitted plums
2 tbsp chia seeds
3 tsp agar agar
10-12 honey waffles (I used these but crackers, cake crumbs, other waffles should work, too)

a cake ring

Thaw frozen plums, wash and pit fresh ones. Cut them up in halves or quarter. Mix with chia seeds.

Chop the waffles in small pieces. Place the cake ring on a level surface (see mine in the photos) and spread the waffles pieces inside. Make sure the base is well and more or less evenly covered.

Mix silk tofu, coconut fat and oat cream, cover the bowl and mixer with a tea towel and beat on high. Take off 100 ml of this mix and pour it into a saucepan or small pot. Add lemon juice and vanilla to what remains in the bowl and whisk. Also add the plums.

To the mixture in the saucepan add three teaspoons of agar agar and heat while stirring. When you see bubbles, lower the heat to a minimum (or switch off completely, depending on your stove). Keep whisking for a minute. Then take the saucepan off of the stove and let cool down a little while still stirring. Spoonwise add some of the cold tofu/coconut/oat cream mixture and stir it in. Do so slowly until all the mix is in the saucepan. (Obviously stop if the saucepan is full. Then add the content to the mixing bowl.)
gateau silk tofu chia plums
Pour the mixture on top of the waffles. Let this cake set in the refridgerator for at least three hours. It is best made in the morning and eaten within the day. Otherwise it will get VERY soggy. Trust me, I’ve been there. Otherwise send me photos of your soggy cake 😉

2 thoughts on “Laktosefreie Käse-Sahne-Torte mit Pflaumen – Cold cake: A dairy-free plum-cream gateau”

    1. Thanks for the compliment! I feel like I am also developing a dairy-phobia by just checking food labels in the store… Why is there milk powder in chips/crisps?

Leave a Reply

