Kitchen

Spinach and chick pea quiche – vernal and vegan

by Anna
vegan quiche kichererbsen spinat
When I was preparing recipes for my vegan lent (which is not going great by the way) I made this quiche. It was Amuse your bouche via Pinterest that I gathered my inspiration from, see my “Why not vegan?” board here. I admit it’s a combination that I would not have thought of by myself: spinach and chick peas. Yet it makes sapidly sense: chick peas (the queen of the leguminous plants) offers proteins, spinach makes the vegatble part and the crust from einkorn flour is filling while easy to digest. Too much information? Let’s switch to making the quiche then!
spinach chickpea vegan quiche
Spinach and chick pea quiche for one spring form or quiche dish

Crust 250 g einkorn flour, 5 level spoons baking powder, up to 60 g olive oil, 100 g warm water, a pinch of salt
Filling 1 can chick peas, garlic to taste (better more than less…), 150 g fresh spinach leaves, 1 red onion
200+ ml oat cream, 1 tablespoon soy flour, salt, pepper, nutmeg, yeast flakes (optionally)

Start by making the filling: Whisk together oat cream, soy flower and spices.

Peel and mince onion and garlic (I’m for more than three cloves…) and saute them in a little olive oil. Drain the chick peas and add them to the pan. Turn off the heat of the stove, shower the spinach leaves and add them to the mixture. Season with all spices listed above.

Make the dough for the crust: Knead together flour, baking powder, oil, salt and some of the water. Add more water as you knead. Grease your pan if necessary, my quiche dish works fine ungreased. Spread the dough, roll it out (with a glass/tumbler), pull up the edges and poke several times with a fork.

Mix the veggies and the cream and pour it all into the crust. Bake at 200°C for 25-30 minutes.
chickpea quiche
I served this with a little purslane salad. I think those little heart-shaped leaves are just adorable, don’t you?

Ok, writing this made me hungry, I’m off to make lunch!

Leave a Reply

