Kitchen

Caramelized walnut-carrot cake – vegan

by Anna
caramelized walnut carrot cake
Have you wondered yet, where Hetty has disappeared to? We haven’t heard from her on modewaerts since her delish sweet potato and mangold pizza – and boy, was that a great meal idea! She just confirmed she will be back in the summer. For right now I only say: Internship, Switzerland, whoah…

Last year around this time Hetty made this fabulous carrot cake with one slice of it looking like an elephant. She made it for her family who devoured it within one tea/coffee time session, I believe. This made me curious – as I had never baked nor eaten sweet carrot cake – and I made a vegan version. It was good. It was actually so good that I ate the whole thing by myself, but I won’t mention that in public. I have? Oh, well…

Anyway, I took my time to savour each of the different flavours within it, the carrots, the walnuts, the cinnamon, and found that I would like to try a version with caramelized nuts. Usually I would not copy Hetty, as in repost her ideas here, but I do love to make and taste the things she made. Have you made her vegan panna cotta yet? You should!!!
caramel carrot cake
Her recipe was before dairy-free or vegan days, so I can justify myself with having made a vegan version. I still feel bad for being a copy-cat. But then again this is not a battle and you make whichever one you prefer!

Caramelized walnut-carrot cake
125g walnuts, chopped
450g carrots, shredded

325 g spelt flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 pinch nutmeg
½ teaspoon salt
1 pinch vanilla

3 tablespoons apple sauce
2 tablespoons soy flour or corn starch
1 gulp soda / sparkling water

50 ml apple nectar (Apfelsüße) or agave nectar
200 g raw cane sugar
200 ml sunflower seed oil

Start by roughly chopping the walnuts, then gently roast them adding half of the sugar and all of the apple nectar to caramelize. Stir frequently. Peel the carrots and shred them. I liked to bring out the carrots sweetness even more and sauteed them a little as well.
hexagon cake
Mix the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, spices and the remaining sugar. By the way, we are using raw cane sugar here because it already tastes slighty caramelly… Add oil. Apple sauce, soy flour or starch and soda work to replace the eggs here. Whenever I am not sure how to replace I use all three egg replacements to be safe. Works well for me. So add those three and mix everything together using a big spoon. I found there is no need for a mixer here. Fold in the carrots and caramelized walnuts.
karamelisierter karotten kuchen
Pour Scrape in a spring form and bake at 200°C for 30-35 minutes. Turn off the oven and let the cake sit inside a little longer. This is a really moist cake, yum!

I cut mine into a hexagon just for the fun off it. That also meant I could eat some of the cake while giving the rest of it as a present, ha!

4 thoughts on “Caramelized walnut-carrot cake – vegan”

Leave a Reply

