closet, Studio

The Dress – Retro Butterick ’60 B5748

by Anna
annas butterick retro b5748
Can I just let the pictures do the talking?
kleid nähen butterick schnitt
My friend Hülya took these photos last sunday during the blue hour (thanks ever so much!), so I could finally show the dress that Hetty doesn’t want me to wear to someone’s (really anyone’s) wedding. I had sewn it with no occasion in mind, but when I finished I felt like this was something to wear to a marriage. Now, that I see it in photos I totally get Hettys point. While in real life the blue of the flowers outweighs the white, in pictures it looks much lighter and then there definitely is too much white for another girls wedding. With that said let’s talk about this pattern!
butterick retro B5748
I love this dress and I love the pattern. It was my first Butterick and I am so pleased with the fit. First of all, I had never made a pattern where seam allowance was included – it’s the raddest thing! Then it fits ME like a glove, like really truly. Maybe I have a 1960s figure?!? I made no size alterations whatsoever and this is so rare. You have me cursing on many a pattern because there is always something concerning the waist, the darts or the bust. Here – nada.
diy dress easy
(Ok, being German I have to find the one tiny fault: Next time I would make the straps closer together i.e. make the upper front slightly narrower. Details, folks, details.)
dress twirls
I stuck with view A of the pattern, just omitting the front bow and the slits in the neckline. Which basically makes it a view B with a bow in the back. Whatever. Cutting was basic, sewing was easy. There are long darts but they posed no problem. I went with a medium weight cotton mix fabric with woven white stripes and printed blue flowers. It’s the same fabric Hetty used for this dress, just blue instead of her red.
Retro Butterick '60 dress
Fun fact: My fabric resembles the drawing on the pattern envelope a lot: Also blue flowers on white background. This is why I chose that fabric (from my stash) to make this exact dress. Even though I did not have quite enough cloth which makes the skirt shorter in some areas. Oh well. Would you have known? And since I am one who is more interested in the result than the process I have sewn in one session. Outcome: I am very happy with both the process and the result.
vintage pattern dress
This is a Misses’ / Misses’ Petite Dress. Considering I am 180 cm (almost 6 feet) tall and since I made this in a size 14 it is pretty impressive that it fits like this. The darts that come up from the midriff seam really work in my favor. Mental note to self: Make more clothes with darts like those. This is my first piece of clothing with darts from the midriff up. Was that a 60s thing? (Do not mention to anyone that I went to fashion school. I should know that kind of thing, no?)
rückansicht butterick schnitt retro
In case you are in Europe (like me) and pondering buying the pattern: I totally recommend you do. Wait for a sale. I got the pattern when lots of them were for 2.99$.
vintage schnitt kleid
I am wearing the retro Butterick pattern dress with a vintage petticoat, fleamarket bag and Mary-Jane-type skyblue leather kicks from a few seasons ago. Fun (well, not so fun) fact: I forgot the bag at one of the doorhandles on location. And then I forgot about forgetting it allover again. Will go tomorrow to check if it’s still there. If not, at least I have picture-perfect memories of it now. On the other hand, we photographed in the court of a prison that is not used anymore. What do you think my chances are of getting the bag back? – Ok. Enough. Happy weekend ~Anna~

2 thoughts on “The Dress – Retro Butterick ’60 B5748”

  1. Ich mag das Outfit. Auf meiner Hochzeit darfst du das tragen 🙂 passt zu den gelben und vielen weissen Blumen im Garten. Die Schuhe passen einfach zu perfekt.
    Und Hülya dickes fettes Kompliment. Text war diesmal gar nicht nötig 🙂

Leave a Reply

