Living room, Office, Studio

Apartment Progress II

by Anna
IMG_0294.JPG
Here I go happily crossing things off of my to do list for the apartment! Bedroom? Finished! I am very happy how the shop style wardrobe look I was going for is conveyed from the image I showed you in the first apartment progress report to real life.

First, I made over the old changing table that I am going to use as a dresser. This is an heirloom piece of furniture to me, both my brother and I were changed on it as babies ( I believe my parents had taken off the hutch then) and it might have been another piece that the ‘rents had acquired with their house. Like my white table, a former kids desk, it had been sitting in the basement. Cool, huh?

When I was little I had put stickers all over the dresser which my Dad had already taken off, danke Papa! I just sanded, primed and painted in chalkboard paint. And then let the precious thing sit outside to dry and bad luck had that it the rained on it over night. Bummer. I painted over it again, but, as you can see stains remained. Oh well, c’est la vie. The basket is a lucky thrift find and the knobs are painted with nailpolish as I already did with the knobs in my former kitchen

Fun fact about the kitchen: the new owners send me a photo of it in its new home! Yay!

Second, to make my version of this clothing rack I ordered five 160cm broomsticks on amazon, tied them together with cute rope (more about that in a minute) and tada here is my DIY clothes rack. Once I had my material on hand – and since I skipped the drilling – this was a five minute project, yay! A cute looking and quick to put together project always fulfills me in a way that is beyond words – it’s instant happiness. Right now there is a whole lot of weight on it but it holds up, partly because it is jammed between the wall(s) and the wine crate shelves in front of it. If you want to have it standing free I would drill and secure with more rope at the bottom as seen in the tutorial link above.
IMG_0297.JPG
The bed is facing the window which was the best decision not only for the room layout, but also because now I wake up and see the big beautiful tree in front of the window and the birds sitting and singing on its branches. This goes well with the still somewhat nostalic feel of the room, no? Only the wall under the slant was empty then, but the solution was there before the problem: I just made a white/babypink fabric garland (seen all over pinterest) and it was done. The very warm reindeer blanket is a gift from my parents and came all the way from Lithuania to me.
IMG_0309.JPG
Orange and green hues above the kitchen table add a freshness to the old and chipped kitchen that make me smile everytime I enter or even pass by. I loved the clementine wall on A beautifull Mess and spun it off into a clementine canvas. Woodchip wallpapers all over the apartment don’t make for good stamping on the walls, I guess. I am going to try anyway. For the moment I love my clementine canvas and the ability to move it around if my little heart desires so. I actually used Schöner Wohnen paint samples in Mango and Honey for the fruit and the tiny cans as templates for the stamp. Then I also glued the foam stamps to the cans, now I have everything in one place in case I feel like I need more clementines in my life. Knowing me this might happen in the middle on the night on a holiday…
IMG_0316.JPG
Before we talk about the rope shelf would you please note the reflections in the frames glass? It’s the string lights on the balcony, I guess I can cross off “show string lights on the blog” too, now, can I? When I saw the hanging rope shelves I knew they would be perfect for the new place, modern, light and challenging my woodworking unexperienced self. I upcycled slats from an old bedframe for the shelves and bought cute teal rope, as seen above for the clothing rack, then skipped the lip/skinny strip and whitewashed the boards. There is another one of these waiting to me mounted but I wanted to see how it holds up first because of my lightweigth walls. In any case, thanks to ABMs Joshua!
IMG_0285.JPG
And then there is this. Hetty suggested she came over after christmas and write on the wall for me. I did a cesond coat of paint but my handwriting still does not look like mine on that wall. I like the “people still feel” bit of it, but the rest? Nah. Another idea might me to write it out on paper/a plastic sheet and cast it on the wall via an overhead projector/beamer? I just write more like myself on a level surface…

There is another thing that has improved but not so much that I can show you. The really 70s (in a bad way) looking bathroom looks a little happier with my printed instagram photos on the tiles. I hope the photo paper and the moisture will be friends, cross your fingers, please!

Leave a Reply

