Kitchen

Pumpkin (pie) spice waffles with apple pumpkin sauce

by Anna
IMG_0326
Confession time: I was a bit bummed when I found out there is no pumpkin in pumpkin pie spice. Ok, I was not really disappointed but I was very serious about finding out what was in this stuff that parts of blogland go crazy about once fall arrives. There is no such thing as pumpkin spice where I am and I have neither been very much into pumpkin growing up not into sweet pumpkin dishes since starting to eat pumpkin. I first encountered pumpkin pie during my first (and only) Thanksgiving while living in the US. I admit I wasn’t a fangirl. Then things changed and here I am with my first own sweet pumpkin recipe, a very fruity apple pumpkin sauce. Oh, and there are pumpkin spice waffles. Can I tempt anyone with those?

Apple pumpkin sauce

2 apples (I used a sourish one and a sweeter kind)
1/2 of a small hokkaido pumpkin (or any pumpkin that can bu used unpeeled)
apple nectar (or agave nectar)
some cinnamon and nutmeg or pumpkin spice

Clean, pit and cube apples and pumpkin. In a steamer cook them for 25 minutes or on the stove with a little water until they are soft. In a bowl combine with a tablespoon of apple nectar and mingle some with a fork. In case you want a fine apple pumpkin sauce process with a blender. Sprinkle on some cinnamon and nutmeg or the famous pumpkin spice.
IMG_0336
Speaking of which, I made pumpkin spice similar to The Kitchns Pumpkin Pie Spice recipe I even have the ingredients noted as a fall inscription on my parents’ kitchen chalkboard…
IMG_0323
Annas pumpkin spice
2 ts ground cinnamon
1 ts ground ginger
1/2 ts ground cloves
1/2 ts ground nutmeg

Mix all the ingredients and store in an airtight container. Customize this to your preferences to truly make it your own. I will go heavier on the ginger next time, you do as you please.
IMG_0331
Pumpkin spice waffles (vegan or not)
For non-vegan pumpkin spice waffles just use my recipe for cinnamon waffles and substitue cinnamon with pumpkin spice. Use two teaspoons of it…
150g flour
150g margarine or sunflower oil
1 heaping tbs soy flour
1 tbs apple sauce (take some smushy apples from your apple pumpkin sauce)
3 tbs apple nectar (or agave nectar)
1 tbs Apple Cinnamon Liqueur or plain rhum
2 ts pumpkin spice

Mix all ingredients and bake in the waffle maker according to its instructions. I got four vegan waffles out of this recipe, the non-vegan version makes many more. Also, I am still experimenting with vegan waffles, these tend to fall apart more easily. This is partly because of the dough, partly because of my waffle maker. Any advice?

If you feel like there is not enough pumpkin spice in your day, enjoy these with a homemade pumpkin spice latte!

Leave a Reply

